top of page

Management Candidate School

Recent Graduates of Management Candidate School


York, Maine - Somnang Laurendeau of York Sewer District, David DePerrio and Joe Dignam of York Water District received diplomas for their participation in Management Candidate School (MCS) which they attended one day each month from November 2017 to September 2018. Ms. Laurendeau, Mr. Deperrio and Mr. Dignam along with 20 other water professionals participated in Maine’s ninth management curriculum designed to prepare mid-level drinking water and wastewater personnel for career advancement in utility management. The curriculum included personnel management, supervisory skills, labor relations, budgeting and engineering basics. Monthly classes were held at the Portland Water District. The MCS was coordinated by the Maine Joint Environmental Training Coordinating Committee (JETCC) with support from the Maine Department of Environmental Protection (DEP), Maine Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS), Maine Water Environment Association (MeWEA) and Maine Water Utilities Association (MWUA). Graduation ceremonies were held during the MeWEA annual convention on Thursday, September 20 at Sunday River in Newry, Maine.

L-R  David DePerrio-Somnang Lauredeau-Jo

Picture above: David Deperrio York Water District, Somnang Laurendeau York Sewer District, and Joseph Dignam York Water District

Somnang diplomajpeg_edited.jpg

Picture above: Somnang Laurendeau York Sewer District Clerk and Leeann Hanson JETCC Training Coordinator - NEIWPCC Information Officer

MCS Group 2018_edited.jpg

Photo Caption Class of 2018

Front Row L to R: Ross Desjardins – Kennebec Water District; Helen Newman, Maine Water Company; Tyler Pease – Greater Augusta Utility District; Somnang Laurendeau – York Sewer District; Catherine McLeod – Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, Wells Water District Middle Row L to R: Brice Bond – Kennebunkport Sewer Department; Ernest Bergeron – Brunswick Sewer District; Tim Abbott – Sanford Sewerage District; Michael Hall – Maine Water Company; Chris St Pierre – Ogunquit Sewer District; Adam Daigle – City of Portland Water Resources; Randy Nault – Lewiston Water Dept.; James Ferguson –Saco Water Resource Recovery Dept. Back Row L to R Steve Piccard – Portland Water District; Joe Dignam – York Water District; David DePierro – York Water District; Danny Boissonneault – Kennebunk Sewer; Steve Allen – Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, Wells Water District; Rudy Hale – Scarborough Sewer District; Brian Cogill – City of Portland Water Resources; David Taylor Portland Water District; Warren Burnham – Lewiston Auburn Water Pollution Control Authority; John Halacy – Rumford Water District

bottom of page